About Gerald W. Darnell

A Florida native, Gerald grew up and attended high school in the small town of Humboldt, Tennessee. Following graduation from the University of Tennessee, he spent time in Hopkinsville, KY, Memphis, TN, Boston, MA and Newport, AR before moving back to Florida – where he now lives.

Gerald worked as a Senior Manager with several Fortune 100 companies, before officially retiring in 2007. His non-fiction book, ‘Don’t Wake Me Until It’s Time To Go’, is a bio-narrative including humorous stories and events spanning his life from pre-high school to retirement.

His fiction books are what he calls ‘Fiction for Fun’. They use real geography and include pictures and characters some readers might recognize. The ‘Carson Reno Mystery Series’ are adventure mysteries set in the early 1960 time period, with the primary geography being Memphis and small southern towns. Core characters continue through each book, along with new and unique characters for each story.

During the early 70’s the author worked from an office in the Memphis Peabody Hotel. So, many of the events about the hotel in Carson Reno’s stories are real, as well as many of the characters you meet.

His books are available at selected bookstores, gift shops, on-line and through Amazon and Barnes and Noble. E-books are available at Amazon’s Kindle and Barnes and Noble’s Nook formats. Audio books at Audible and iTunes.





Audio Books:  http://tinyurl.com/o44gh85

Book Trailers:  http://www.youtube.com/user/carsonrenomysteries

Barnes and Noble:  http://tinyurl.com/o7roj5c


2 thoughts on “About Gerald W. Darnell

  1. Name: Elizabeth White
    Email: etwhite25@yahoo.com
    Comment: If you have been a “MAD MEN ” fan and a “die hard ” fan of the 1960’s, then “THE CARSON RENO SERIES” is for you! Those who were growing up in a small town during the ’60s can truly identify with the setting of the small (and real) town of Humboldt, Tennessee. And, those who grew up in or ever visited Memphis, Tennessee in the ’60s will recognize all of the locations that existed at that period of time. For those who never lived during this era of time, the series will be as refreshing as a cool drink of water. You may read them in or out of order, for the author gives the reader necessary background information to understand where CARSON RENO is and where he has been. enjoy !!


  2. Pingback: Welcome to the party – Meet and Greet. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s