Murder in Humboldt Episode 4

Episode 4 of my serial novel – ‘Murder in Humboldt’

murderinhumboldt

DAY THREE

 Saturday

Publication1         Nickie was working  the counter when I wandered in the restaurant sometime after eleven o’clock. 

“Rough night?” she asked when I sat down at the counter.

“No, great night but a very difficult day, and I guess breakfast time is over.  Can I just have a burger patty, toast and large milk?” I asked, rubbing sleep out of my eyes.

“Whatever,” Nickie said, shrugging her shoulders. “Are you sure you don’t need a Jack and Coke?”

“I probably do, but I’ve got to get back to Memphis, and I don’t need any distractions.  However, you can add a fresh bottle of Jack Daniel’s to my bill.  The one I have seems to have sprung a leak!”   Wonder why?

“Then you’re checking out?” Nickie asked. “I need to know because we’ve got a waiting list.  This town is full of strangers, mostly union people I guess…

View original post 1,531 more words

Leave a Reply

