My Mother’s Hands

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

My son has kept my hands completely full for the past few days. Time having run out on me again tonight, I thought I would share a poem written a few years ago that seems somehow appropriate…

Study of hands - Leonardo da Vinci

My Mother’s Hands

I see my mother’s hands before my eyes

The first caress that I had ever known,

And with a thrill of wonder realise

The hands I see before me are my own.

*

Where did the decades go, I have to ask,

At what point did my springtime slip away?

Is this mid-summer sun in which I bask

Or has the autumn brought a shorter day?

*

A mellowing has softened me, I know,

Yet coloured me with richer hue and shade,

And written on my face a map to show

The world the choices I have made.

*

I too can read the story as I look

Of all…

View original post 125 more words

2 thoughts on “My Mother’s Hands

Leave a Reply

